EAST (INNER) AREA COMMITTEE

WEDNESDAY, 16TH MAY, 2012

PRESENT: Councillor G Hyde in the Chair

Councillors A Hussain, B Selby, V Morgan, M Ingham, A Khan, R Grahame, K Maqsood and R Harington

Apologies Councillor A Taylor

104 Chairs Opening remarks

Councillor Hyde welcomed all present to this, the last EIAC meeting of the 2011/12 Municipal Year and welcomed Councillors M Ingham and R Harington as new ward councillors for Burmantofts & Richmond Hill and Gipton & Harehills respectively

105 Declaration of Interests

There were no declarations of interest

106 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Mr R Manners, Ms L Johnson and Councillor A Taylor

107 Open Forum No matters were raised under the Open Forum

108 Minutes

RESOLVED – That the minutes of the previous meeting held 22nd March 2012 be agreed as a correct record

109 Matters Arising

Minute 89 Open Forum (Creative Workshops) Mr P Ratcliffe was in attendance. It was noted a report would be presented to the June meeting on the progress made so far with the proposals to establish a creative workshop **Minute 95** Actions & Achievements (Richmond Hill and Lincoln Green jobshops) The Chair requested that local ward Councillors receive an update report on the progress made to establish the two Job Shops

Additionally Councillor R Grahame referred to two publications he wished to table entitled "Leeds Labour Market" and "Inequality to Inclusion". It was agreed that these would be despatched to members of EIAC

Following consideration of any matters arising, Councillor Hyde relinquished the role of Chair in order that the Committee could consider the next item of business

110 Election of Area Committee Chair for the 2012/13 Municipal Year

The Chief Officer, Democratic and Central Services, submitted a report on the process for the election of the Area Committee Chair for the 2012/13 Municipal Year in accordance with Article 10 of the Council's Constitution and Paragraph 5 of the Area Procedure Committee Rules. The report included a copy of the relevant Procedure Rules for reference.

It was reported that one nominee for Chair had been submitted by the closing date for receipt of nominations – that nominee being Councillor G Hyde. The Area Committee unanimously supported the motion to elect Councillor G Hyde as Chair and it was

RESOLVED – That Councillor G Hyde be duly elected as chair of the East Inner Area Committee for the 2012/13 Municipal Year

111 Any Other Business

<u>Co-optee membership</u> – a comment highlighting the lack of co-optees from the Gipton and Harehills localities was noted. EIAC noted that this would be raised at the next meeting of the Gipton CLT

<u>Sub Groups</u> – EIAC requested that dates for sub group meeting should be provided as soon as possible so that these can be entered into Members' electronic diaries

<u>School allocations</u> – EIAC noted that ward councillors had received a number of queries from parents whose children had not been allocated a place at their first choice of local school, and comments that some children were schooled outside of the east Leeds area were noted. EIAC requested that an officer from the Schools Allocations Section, Children's Services attend the June meeting

112 Councillor P Gruen - Executive Member for Neighbourhoods, Housing and Regeneration

Councillor P Gruen, Executive Member for Neighbourhoods, Housing and Regeneration, addressed the meeting on proposals to enhance the role of Area Committees in two new areas of work:

 the delivery of the Jobs + Skills Service through making local connections with the corporate LCC approach

• as consultees on major planning applications within the AC area

RESOLVED – To note the information provided by Councillor Gruen and to note the intention to present a detailed report to the June AC meeting

113 Dates of Future Meetings

RESOLVED - To note the dates for future meetings of East Inner Area Committee for the 2012/13 Municipal Year as the following: 21st June 2012; 6th September 2012, 18th October 2012; 6th December 2012; 7th February 2013; 21st March 2013 and 9th May 2013

(All meetings to be held on Thursdays at 5:30 pm)